CRG Australia's Lane Moore finished third fastest in the TaG 125 class (Pic: Coopers Photography)

CRG Australia’s Lane Moore in action during Friday’s practice  (Pic: Coopers Photography)

If Friday’s practice times are anything to go by the battles for victory at Round Four of the Australian Kart Championship presented by Jayco and Castrol EDGE are set to be intense in Ipswich this weekend.

Gold Coaster Brendan Nelson began his quest for four consecutive round victories in ominous fashion by topping the timesheets in the TaG 125 class in his IAME-powered FA Kart. Nelson finished with a slender margin (0.007 seconds) over Nicholas Andrews, who won the corresponding round last year. The PRD Galaxy-powered CRG of Lane Moore was 11 one-thousandths of a second further back in third place overall.

Ricciardo Kart driver Marijn Kremers finished on top in the X30 class, however, less than a second separated the top three drivers with Zac Soutar and Round Two winner Adam Mercer close behind the Gold Coast-based Dutchman. Former World Cup Champion Jordon Lennox-Lamb was fifth fastest overall.

Kremers continued his good start to the weekend by finished second fastest in the KZ2 class behind his Patrizicorse team-mate Chris Hays. Canberra’s Joshua Fife and Sunshine Coast racer Kyle Ensbey kept the pair honest near the top of the timesheets throughout the day.

Marc Tulloch continued the successful start for the Ricciardo Kart team by leading the way in the KA1 class. Tulloch edged out Harrington Doyle Racing Arrow Karts pilot Scott Sorensen by a little over one-tenth of a second.

Shamick Racing’s Harry Arnett, who broke through for his maiden Cadet 9 victory in the previous round, set the fastest time of the day in the class. He was closely followed by Alex Ninovic and Ryan Tomsett who were separated by a mere one one-thousandths of a second when setting the fastest time in the second and third practice sessions respectively.

Travis Worton was one of the front runners in the KA4 Junior class (Pic: Coopers Photography)

Travis Worton was one of the front runners in the KA4 Junior class (Pic: Coopers Photography)

Multiple-time Australian Champion James Sera set the pace in the KA3 Senior class with a time of 50.875 seconds. The FA Kart driver was closely followed by Cody Donald in the battle at the top of the timesheets.

Zac Crichton topped the timesheets in the KA4 Junior class followed by Travis Worton and Joshua Smith.

Championship leader Kai Allen was the star of the Cadet 12 field once again while Jack Doohan outpaced the KA2 field with a blistering 48.356 second lap in the final session of the day to finish almost three-tenths of a second clear his nearest opposition.

For the full results please click here.