22nd February 2020


The field of celebrity drivers race into turn one at the Port Melbourne International Karting Complex (Pic: Pace Images)

Thirteen young Karting Australia licence holders turned from Drivers to Driver Coaches as a part of the 2020 Formula 1 Rolex Formula 1 Grand Prix Celebrity Challenge in Melbourne on Saturday.

The celebrity drivers took to the Port Melbourne International Karting circuit aboard identical Arrow X5 karts powered by Torini Clubmaxx engines prepared by DPE Kart Technology for the event. Each of the karting youngsters was paired with a celebrity driver while representing affiliated Clubs from across Victoria.

Guided by the Go-Kart Club of Victoria’s James Anagostiadis, former The Bachelor and Neighbours actor Tom Robards showed the field how it was done in the main event.  After starting the race on the front row alongside Collingwood AFL Coach Nathan Buckley, Robards moved past the early pacesetter of the day on lap three of the main event before taking a comprehensive victory.

Former professional tennis player Mark Philippoussis, who was paired with Swan Hill Kart Club’s Seth Sutton, was the hard-charger of the race.  After enduring a spin in qualifying, Philippoussis started from near the rear of the field before securing the runner-up placing.

Third place went to Celebrity chef Shane Delia, paired with Wimmera Kart Club’s Nathan Emmins, after fending off the challenges from Australian Grand Prix Corporation CEO Andrew Westacott and North Melbourne AFL Legend Glenn Archer.

The event kicks off the countdown towards the opening Formula 1 event in the 2020 World Championship that will be held at the Albert Park circuit on March 12-15.

2020 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix
Celebrity Karting Challenge

1. Tim Robards (James Anagostiadis – Go-Kart Club of Victoria)
2. Mark Philippoussis (Seth Sutton – Swan Hill Kart Club)
3. Shane Delia (Nathan Emmins – Wimmera Kart Club)
4. Andrew Westacott (Domenic Kunica – Ballarat Kart Club)
5. Glenn Archer (Mathew Basso – Oakleigh Go-Kart Racing Club)
6. Brooke Meredith (Joanne Ciconte – Oakleigh Go-Kart Racing Club)
7. Adam D’Sylva (Harry Arnett – Bendigo Kart Club)
8. Brodie Harper (Miley Miller – Go-Kart Club of Victoria)
9. Brit Selwood (Emily Blain – Warrnambool Kart Club)
10. Jackie Epstein (Cedah Opie – Goulburn Valley Kart Club)
11. Steve Price (Ryan Wyhoon – Gippsland Kart Club)
12. Jo Hall (Jack Jenkins – Eastern Lions Kart Club)
13. Nathan Buckley (Rusty Ponting – South West Kart Club)

Bendigo Kart Club’s Harry Arnett showing his Celebrity Chef Adam D’Sylva some tips (Pic: Pace Images)

South West Kart Club’s Rusty Ponting wishing his driver Nathan Buckley good luck (Pic: Pace Images)

Brit Selwood in full flight (Pic: Pace Images)

Eventual winner Tim Robards in action (Pic: Pace Images)