CRG Heroes hit the heights in opening State Championship rounds

Zac Zamprogno crossing the line for victory in Canberra

Zac Zamprogno crossing the line for victory in Canberra

Team CRG pilots have taken victories in several classes across New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria, and nine podiums in total throughout four States in State Karting Championship events.

The outstanding start to 2016 from the Team CRG Juniors continued with three of the final victories going to juniors.

The first round of the New South Wales Title at Circuit Mark Webber in Canberra saw a win in both KA4 Junior categories with Zac Zamprogno taking a breakthrough win in the KA4 Heavy class. Zac Crichton secured the win in KA4 Light. It was both of the Zac’s first major victory for Team CRG and with the newly arrived Hero 101 chassis.

In more KA4 Light success, Mak Holden led the final until the last corner in Queensland, however was pipped on the line in the opening round of their Championship. It was a sensational performance for Holden that impressed the team.

In Victoria, Kai Allen’s dominance of the Cadet 12 category continued, taking victory in the second round at Oakleigh in Melbourne.  He was joined in the top five by Angus Giffin who crossed the line fourth and Nicholas Sacco recorded a seventh placed finish.

Daniel Seraglio charged to second in TaG Restricted Heavy in Canberra, with Phillip Borg in fifth – Seraglio was debuting the newly imported CRG Gemstar 30/32 chassis for Runaway Motorsport.

In Queensland – conducted at the Warwick Kart Club, James Litzow’s successful run continued winning KA3 Senior Light. The youngster almost made it a double in the hotly contested Queensland TaG Light category, however, crossed the line a narrow second.

Thomas MacDonald in action

Thomas MacDonald in action

Thomas MacDonald’s solid TaG Light performances continued, bringing his CRG home in second place in New South Wales’. European Rotax Champion, Pierce Lehane was on for victory, however another State Title round win was cruelly taken from him when the carburettor came loose during the final, thus ending his run while in the lead.

Lehane was using the PRD Galaxy engine that is manufactured by Team CRG Australia importer, St George Kart Centre.

Also using the Galaxy was Brett Robinson in TaG Heavy. The Orange-based Team CRG stalwart came home third in the final. Robinson was doing double duty in KA3 Senior Heavy, finishing that race in fifth.

In South Australia, the Stojakovic family both secured top fives in the second round of their State Title in Mount Gambier. Veteran, Jedd Stokjakovic was fifth in TaG Light and James Stojakovic fifth in Cadet 12 – another great drive.

Team Manager Darren King paid tribute to the effort of the drivers and teams to secure the results they did.

“We had many drivers with new CRG Chassis’ straight out of the box going into the weekend, which can sometimes be an unknown – particularly with Junior drivers,” King explained.

“Much to their credit, they were all on the pace quickly and our drivers went on to take three Junior victories and two senior wins. It was a pleasing run for the two Zacs in New South Wales – it is always good to see youngsters take their breakthrough wins at events like the State Karting Championships.

“The Galaxy engine in TaG has continued to impress – Pierce was on for a win until the Carbie came loose and Brett Robinson secured a top three placing.”

The next major event for Team CRG Australia will be the third round of the Australian Kart Championship presented by Jayco and Castrol EDGE over the weekend of May 13-15 in Monarto, South Australia.


KA4 Junior Light – 1st:  Zac Crichton
KA4 Junior Light – 4th:  Chris Polis
KA4 Junior Heavy – 1st: Zac Zamprogno
KA3 Senior Heavy – 5th: Brett Robinson
TaG Restricted Heavy – 1st: Luke Seymour
TaG Restricted Heavy – 5th: Phillip Borg
TaG Light – 2nd: Thomas McDonald
TaG Light – DNF: Pierce Lehane
TaG Heavy – 3rd: Brett Robinson

KA4 Junior Light – 2nd: Mak Holden
KA3 Senior Light – 1st: James Litzow
TaG Light – 2nd: James Litzow

Cadet 12 – 1st: Kai Allen
Cadet 12 – 4th: Angus Giffin
Cadet 12 – 7th: Nicholas Sacco

TaG Light – 5th: Jedd Stojakovic
Cadet 12 – 5th: James Stojakovic